Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

The University at Erlangen, Germany, is known officially as the Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. It is the second-largest university in the state of Bavaria in Germany, with about 35,000 students in total. Its history dates back to 1743, when it was established in Erlangen.

The Erlangen department of physics covers a diverse range of research topics, including optics, astroparticle physics, solid-state physics and biophysics, with 40 professors in total. There are four chairs of theoretical physics, each with two or more professors. The department has close connections with the recently established Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light.

At the Institute for Theoretical Physics II, Prof. Florian Marquardt (leading the chair) and Prof. Eric Lutz investigate phenomena at the intersection between nanophysics and quantum optics. These include nano-/optomechanics, decoherence, quantum information processing, quantum many-body physics and quantum thermodynamics.

Prof. Florian Marquardt

Prof. Florian Marquardt